Jennifer Felton, who serves as BVU's director of marketing and communications, was this year's recipient of the annual Education for Service Award.

June 12, 2017

Buena Vista University held its annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Dinner on May 26 to recognize and award achievements for employees of the University.

The annual Education for Service Award was presented to Jennifer Felton. Felton began her career at BVU in 2001 as the publications director before being promoted to creative director. She now serves as BVU's director of marketing and communications.

The award was established in 1998 by John and Connie Klockentager to honor a faculty or staff member who demonstrates an outstanding work ethic and is valued as a role model within the BVU community. John Klockentager is a former vice president for enrollment services at BVU.

“Jennifer has served BVU with distinction since 2001 in the office of University Marketing and Communications,” said Kenneth Converse, who presented the award and is the vice president for institutional advancement at BVU. “It has been my pleasure to work with her for the past 16 years.

“What makes this award so special is that my colleagues felt I was a worthy recipient. It means the world to me to be nominated by the people I work with daily. This award isn’t just a reflection of my work, but theirs too.”

Jennifer Felton

Elisabeth Niebuhr, a May graduate and former vice president of the Student Senate, announced the winners of two awards selected through voting by students. Dr. Joni Anderson, associate professor of management, was selected as Student Senate Faculty Member of the Year, and Lori Berglund, director of career and personal development, was selected as Student Senate Staff Member of the Year.

The New Century Faculty Development Award for Research was awarded to Dr. Asligul Erkan, assistant professor of finance. Erkan was nominated for her manuscript entitled “Variance decomposition of the country, industry, firm, and firm-year effects on dividend policy,” which was published in the International Business Review in November.  

The New Century Faculty Development Advising Awards were presented to Dr. Lisa Mellman, assistant professor of physical science, and Jamie Schoenherr, instructor of exercise science.

Five retiring faculty members were honored with emeritus status. The retirees and their dates of service include Dr. Joni Anderson, associate professor of management (2001-2017); Dr. Robert Blodgett, professor emeritus of psychology (1990-2017); Henry Hardt II, professor emeritus of business law and finance (1984-2017); Dr. Elizabeth Lamoureux, professor emeritus of communication studies (1997-2017); and Dr. Stanton Ullerich, professor emeritus of economics (1994-2017). Blodgett, Hardt, Lamoureux and Ullerich were also inducted into the Order of Cumberland and Tollefson, which was established in 1994 and is reserved for retiring faculty members who have given exceptional service to the University. Frederick V. Moore, who stepped down as BVU's president this month, was also honored with emeritus status.

The following faculty members received promotions, as noted: Beth Blankers, professor of accounting; David Boelter, professor of art; Dr. Melinda Coogan, professor of biology; Dr. Merrin Guice, associate professor of vocal music; Dr. Bethany Larson, professor of theatre; Mary Mello-Nee professor of art; Dr. Steven Mills, associate professor of Spanish; and Dr. Karin Strohmyer, associate professor of special education. Guice, Mills and Strohmyer were also granted tenure.

Faculty Member of the Year Awards for BVU's Online, Site and Graduate Programs were also announced at the event: Treasa Weidauer in LeMrs; Jill Siefken in Fort Dodge; Jay Stanish in Marshalltown; Lindsay Epperson in Ottumwa; Pennie Klepper in Spencer; Stephen Hiatt for online programs; and Renea Ogren for graduate programs.