TLTC Early Release of Online Workshops

  1. Create a new team for the student.
    1. Go to the Tools tab and select Teams from the Course Management section.
    2. Click the Add a Team link at the top.
    3. Type the student's name in the Team textbox.
    4. Switch the Hidden drop-down menu to Yes.
    5. Then click the Save button at the bottom.
    6. On the next screen, place a check mark next to the appropriate student's name and click the Add Selected button.
    7. Click the Done button.
  2. Adjust the workshop availability settings.
    1. Go to the Course Content tab and click the settings link under the appropriate workshop folder.
    2. Switch to the Access tab.
    3. Switch to the Advanced Settings at the top of the page (it's a radio button above the Content and Access tabs) so you can see all the availability options.
    4. Under the View Restrictions section, click the Team Access drop-down menu and choose Selected Teams.
    5. Find the student's name (the team you just created) in the Team List section that appears and place a check mark next to it.
    6. Scroll down to the Start Date area and deselect the check mark next to it (the start date is in the future, so if you do not deselect it or change the start date, the student will still be unable to see the workshop).
    7. Then scroll down to the bottom and click the Save button.
  3. Let the student know the workshop is available.
    1. When you have finished setting up the team and adjusting the workshop settings, make sure you let the student know the workshop is available.
    2. Also let the student know any expectations you have of him/her for completing that work ahead of time (i.e., if there are new due dates or requirements, not discussing or sharing the assignments with fellow classmates, etc.).
  4. Make the workshop available to all students on the appropriate date.
    1. This is perhaps the most important step and the easiest to forget. You will need to adjust the workshop settings again to release it to the entire class (remember, online workshop folders are released on the Thursday before the workshop begins).
    2. Go to the Course Content tab and click the settings link under the appropriate workshop folder.
    3. Switch to the Access tab.
    4. Under the View Restrictions section, click the Team Access drop-down menu and choose All Teams.
    5. Scroll down to the bottom and click the Save button.