Scholars Day Showcase Information

BVU's 10th annual Scholars Day will be held from on Friday, April 25, 2014. Scholars Day is a great opportunity to share your best academic paper, laboratory project, piece of art, musical or theatrical performance, literary critique, creative writing, or business plan in a friendly, interactive and intellectually engaging environment. Presentations are welcome from all disciplines, either as poster presentations or as 15-minute oral presentations. By presenting, you’ll get to enlighten a broader audience than usual, list the accomplishment in your résumé and receive cool souvenirs, and you’ll also be invited to attend the annual Scholars Day banquet.

The main prerequisite for your participation in this lively academic event is sponsorship by a member of the BVU faculty/staff. If you've got some exciting scholarly work you would like to share, contact a faculty/staff member soon and discuss your presentation idea. Next, write a title and abstract – i.e., a short paragraph of no more than 200 words that summarizes your presentation — then go to to register and upload your abstract by 4:00 pm on Friday, March 21, 2014 (just before Spring Break). (Note: abstracts will be printed in the Scholars Day program exactly as received, so proofread carefully). Spaces are limited – sign up early!

Students whose abstracts are accepted for Scholars Day will be notified in early April and provided with further instructions on preparing for the April 25th showcase. Those students wishing to create poster presentations or show slides should use the Adobe or Microsoft Publisher poster templates, or the Microsoft PowerPoint templates for slides available on the Scholars Day Showcase website. Poster printing will be free for approved submissions. 

For more information about Scholars Day, go to or feel free to contact one the 2013-2014 Events Committee members listed below.

Professor Rebecca Frates, Chair of the Events Committee of the Faculty Senate
President Fred Moore
Dr. David Evans, Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dr. Joni Anderson, Business
Dr. Matt Hanson, Education
Dr. Miyuki Vamadevan-Arimoto, Social Science, Philosophy and Religion
Dr. Heather York, Science
Professor David Walker, Communications and Art
Jennifer Felton, University Marketing and Communications
Mark Kirkholm, Office of Student Affairs
Chase Werden, Student Senate
Lynsey Seuntjens, Student Senate