Beavers Land 24 Members on Spring Academic All-IIAC Team

Beavers Land 24 Members on Spring Academic All-IIAC Team

Beavers Land 24 Members on Spring Academic All-IIAC Team

The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) has announced its spring Academic All-IIAC Team with Buena Vista University landing a total of 24 players.

To be eligible for academic all-conference recognition, an individual must be at least a sophomore in academic standing, be a member of a varsity team, maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or higher and has spent at least one year at his/her current institution.

Seven of BVU's 24 selections were women's track and field athletes, while six were softball players.  Both the baseball and men's track and field teams each had five.

The six softball players were tied for the most among all IIAC teams in that sport while the five baseball selections were second-most in that sport.

The 24 total selections ranked sixth among all league schools.  Wartburg led all IIAC schools with 66 selections followed by by Luther (39), the University of Dubuque (33), Central College (28), Loras College (28), Buena Vista University (24), Simpson College (19) and Coe College (18).

BVU finishes the academic year with a total of 54 academic all-conference selections.

Cam Beatty BB Jr. Omaha, Neb./Millard North     Computer Science
Ian Grigsby BB Jr. Gretna, Neb./Gretna Mathematics
Kendall Hazel BB So. Sergeant Bluff, Iowa/Sergeant Bluff-Luton     Biology/Pre-Physical Therapy
Neil Marshall BB So. Alta, Iowa/Alta-Aurelia Accounting/Sports Management
Tanner Truesdell BB So. Clear Lake, Iowa/Clear Lake Accounting
Kyle Shade MTEN Jr. St. Joseph, Mo./Central Graphic Design
Alec Sindelar MTF So. Winside, Neb./Winside Marketing
Austin Groth MTF So. Toledo, Iowa/GMG Engineering/Physics
Brady Hannula MTF So. Maplewood, Minn/Math & Science Academy Computer Science
Matt Best MTF Sr. Des Moines, Iowa/Lincoln Athletic Training
Ryan Eberly MTF Sr. Manning, Iowa/IKM-Manning Elementary Education/Exercise Science
Brooke Berkey SB Sr. Colfax, Iowa/Colfax-Mingo Biology
Jordon Pilcher SB Jr. Cedar Rapids, Iowa/Washington Elementary Education
Lesa Turnquist SB Jr. Alta, Iowa/Alta Human Performance
Mikaela Millslagle SB So. Lamoni, Iowa/Lamoni Biology/Chemistry
Samantha Engleman SB Sr. Hawarden, Iowa/West Sioux Elementary Education
Stephanie Hayden SB Jr. Prairie City, Iowa/PCM Accounting/Sports Management
Abby Hesnard WTF Sr. Sac City, Iowa/East Sac County Athletic Training
Amber Reidy WTF Sr Grand Island, Neb./Grand Island Northwest Biology/Chemistry
Brandy Fowler WTF So. Spirit Lake, Iowa/Spirit Lake Political Science
Katie Larsen WTF Sr. Glenwood, Iowa/Glenwood Elementary Ed./Special Ed.
Kelsey Kankelfitz WTF Jr. Atkins, Iowa/Benton Community Athletic Training
Laura Eberly WTF Jr. Manning, Iowa/IKM-Manning Elementary Ed./English
Veronica King WTF So. Manning, Iowa/IKM-Manning Spanish & Secondary Ed.