Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Pamina Abkowitz

Assistant Professor of Special Education
abkowitz@bvu.edu
B.A., Kent State University; M.S., Nazareth College; M.S. Ed., St. John Fisher College; Ed.D., St. John Fisher College

expand description

Casey Baker

Assistant Professor of Counselor Education
baker4@bvu.edu
ABD, Counselor Education and Supervision; MS, Mental Health Counseling; BS, Psychology Minnesota State University, Mankato, MN

expand description

Amy Barth

Assistant Professor of Education
barth@bvu.edu
B.H.S., University of Missouri Columbia; M.A., University of South Dakota; Ph.D., University of Kansas; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Houston; Certificate of Clinical Competence, Speech-Language Pathology, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; Certificate of Clinical Competence,State of Missouri: Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Speech Language Pathologist, License No. 116598

expand description

John Bedward

Assistant Professor of Education
Bedward@bvu.edu
BSc, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; MS, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; PhD, Science Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh

expand description

Lisa Bengtson

Clinical Education Coordinator/Instructor
BengtsonL@bvu.edu
BA, Athletic Training, Augustana College, Sioux Falls, SD; MS, Athletic Training, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa; EdD (in progress), Interdisciplinary Leadership, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

expand description

Janet Berry

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
berry@bvu.edu
B.S., Iowa State University; M.A., Mankato State University

Erica Boettcher

Instructor of Special Education
boettcher@bvu.edu
B.A. in Elementary Education, Buena Vista University; M.A. in Special Education, Morningside University

expand description

Shaley Cullen

Instructor of Education
CullenS@bvu.edu
M.Ed Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Iowa State University; BA English, Secondary Education, Buena Vista University

Grace Eason

Professor of Environmental & Science Education
eason@bvu.edu
Bachelor of Science: Marine Biology, Florida Institute of Technology; Masters of Education, University of Central Florida; PhD.: Environmental Science Education, Florida Institute of Technology

James Farnsworth

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
farnsworth@bvu.edu
B.A. University of North Carolina Wilmington; M.S. Ohio University; Ph.D. Middle Tennessee State University

expand description

Callè Friesen

Assistant Professor of Education
Friesen@bvu.edu
BA English and Secondary Education, Buena Vista University; MSE Teacher Effectiveness and Professional Development with Reading Specialist, Drake University; Ed.D Cultural Literacy and Educational Leadership, Drake University

expand description

Brittany Garling

Assistant Professor of Education
garling@bvu.edu
BA Spanish and Secondary Education, Wartburg College MA Foreign language Education and ESL, University of Iowa PhD Foreign Language Education and ESL University of Iowa

expand description

Ashley Heiberger

Assistant Professor of English as a Second Language
heiberger@bvu.edu
Ph.D., English (specialization in English as a Second Language), Northern Illinois University; M.A., English, University of Tulsa; B.A., English, St. Ambrose University

Mark Hopkins

Assistant Professor Education
hopkins@bvu.edu
B.A. Buena Vista University; M.S. Peru State College; M.S. Northwest Missouri State University; ABD, University of Iowa

expand description

Michelle Huntress

PT Faculty- Literacy/Early Childhood
huntress@bvu.edu
B.A.; M.A.; Administrative Certificate

expand description

Robbie Ludy

Professor of Special Education
Ludy@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., Northeast Missouri State University; Ed.D., University of Missouri, Columbia

Dominic Morales

Assistant Athletic Trainer
moralesd@bvu.edu
B.S.in Athletic Training, Lindenwood University; M.A. Leadership, Boise State University

expand description

Melissa Regelstad

PT Faculty- Literacy/Early Childhood
regelstad@bvu.edu
A.A., Iowa Lakes Community College; B.A., Elementary Education/Early Childhood Endorsement, Buena Vista University; M.S., Educational Leadership, Southwest Minnesota State University

expand description

Jamie Schoenherr

Instructor of Exercise Science
SchoenherrJ@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.S., Western Illinois University

expand description

Jill Siefken

PT Faculty- Literacy/Early Childhood
siefken@bvu.edu
B.S., Elementary Education, Iowa State University; M.A., Professional Educator, Morningside College; Licensure, Iowa PK-12 Principal/Supervisor of Special Education, Viterbo University

expand description

Jessy Smith

PT Faculty- Physical Education
smith11@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., Buena Vista University

Daniel Strohmyer

Director & Asst. Professor M.Ed. Program
strohmyer2@bvu.edu
Undergraduate: Biology major/Chemistry minor, University of Nebraska Masters: Integration of Technology into the Classroom, Walden University Doctorate: Doctor of Philosophy in Education, Walden University

expand description

Karin Strohmyer

Assistant Professor of Special Education
strohmyer@bvu.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska, Kearney; M.A., University of Colorado, Colorado Springs; Ph.D., Walden University

expand description

Shinichiro Sugiura

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
sugiura@bvu.edu
Ph.D. in Exercise Science, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH (Emphasis on Exercise Physiology); M.S. in Athletic Training, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN;  B.S. in Athletic Training, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN

expand description

Jacalyn Swink

PT Faculty- Literacy/Early Childhood
swink@bvu.edu
B.A., Spanish Secondary Education, Western Illinois University; M.S., Reading  Primary/Secondary Education, Western Illinois University

Robert Williams

PT Faculty- Literacy/Early Childhood
williamsr@bvu.edu
B.S. Elementary Education, Iowa State University; M.A., Elementary Education and Educational Leadership

expand description

Tessa Yackle

PT Faculty- Literacy/Early Childhood
yackle@bvu.edu
A.A., Iowa Central Community College; B.A., Elementary Education, Buena Vista University; M.A., Professional Education, Morningside College